Book Review – Inspector Hobbes and the Bones (Unhuman #4)

‘I was grateful for having been born human’
There’s going to be trouble. Andy Caplet’s wife goes away, someone is out to get him, and he loses nearly everything in a storm. Amazing both himself and his unhuman friend Inspector Hobbes, he heroically rescues flood victims and uncovers something shocking.

Is Andy being set up for blackmail by the apparently charming young woman who attempts to seduce him, or is something even more sinister afoot? Hobbes certainly believes so, and he’s getting worried.

This is the fourth in Wilkie Martin’s unhuman series of standalone cozy comedy crime fantasies.

I was given an ARC by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

I had never heard of this writer before. As I am very keen to discover both writers I’ve never come across before and new talent, I was really interested in this book.

The characters are ever so slightly strange at first, especially if this is the first book of the series that you have read. The people in the story are all very eccentric. I was particularly fond of Billy the ninja dwarf. He was great.

It was a little bit hard to wrap my head around the character and place/street names at first. However, the more I realised that that was all a part of the story’s central themes of difference and eccentricity.

The story line was good and there were several plot twists and turns. It was also rather comical in places. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised. An excellent story.

A four out of five star read.

I am profoundly grateful to NetGalley and The Witcherley book company for my copy.

Leave a Reply

