Vaccinations: No, Thimerosal Does Not Cause Autism Spectrum Disorder.

SkeptiQuest

Since the 1980s autism rates in the US have gone from 1 in 10,000 to 2014 where it has reached 1 in 68 according to the CDC. During this time, Thimerosal doses received by children have also increased, leading some people to believe there was a connection. Remember, though, the fundamental tenant of science and critical thinking: correlation does not equal causation. The overwhelming scientific consensus shows that vaccines do not cause autism, but that doesn’t stop a few vocal scientists from continuing to give the perspective a semblance of validity. Conspiracy theories and misinformation perpetuate the appearance of a controversy and that alone is sufficient to fuel fear of vaccines.

The father of the anti-vaccine movement, Andrew Wakefield, is known for his now-discredited 1998 research paper in Lancet describing a link between the MMR vaccine and autism. After scientists failed to reproduce his findings, the General Medical Council…

View original post 966 more words

10 thoughts on “Vaccinations: No, Thimerosal Does Not Cause Autism Spectrum Disorder.

  1. Something must happen at that age. Maybe it is just the vaccine is taxing on the immune system? My dauggher’s personality changed after that vaccine. I have videos that show befor and after. I never knew why. I never accused anything or anyone. But she did change and I wonder why.

      1. I don’t either. I don’t think it is the Mercury or thermisol or whatever that it. I just know she was fine before and not fine after. I don’t know if it was a coincidence. If it was her age. She was almost 3. I guess I will never know.

  2. It annoys me whenever someone says this….

    2.5 million children a year are saved by vaccine in the UK alone, even if it did cause autism (which it doesn’t) would these people rather 1 in every 100 children have autism which they can live with (I have Asperger’s and I’m fine) or would they rather up to 80% of those children be killed off by disease of die early.

Leave a Reply

