Book Review: Tastes Like Fear (D.I Marnie Rome book 3) – Sarah Hillary…

Tastes Like Fear – Sarah Hillary
The young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene.
A runaway who doesn’t want to be found, she only wants to go home.
To the one man who understands her.
Gives her shelter.
Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.
He’s the head of her new family.
He’s Harm.
D.I. Marnie Rome has faced many dangerous criminals but she has never come up against a man like Harm. She thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl’s disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she’s about to face.
Because when Harm’s family is threatened, everything tastes like fear…
I have been given an ARC by Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
This is my first encounter with D.I Marnie Rome and we are three stories into her existence. Marnie is an acquired taste. I have to confess, I love a strong female protagonist in great crime novels. At the start of this book, I’m sad to say that Marnie was no Kim Stone or Helen Grace. Yet as the story progressed and I got to know more about her character, I found myself liking her a lot more. She has a lot of layers.
Her working partnership with D.S Noah Jake is a cleverly written one and I’m thrilled to see that a gay character is given such prominence in this story. He is really likeable as a character and he gives the story a really excellent supporting lead.
The story itself? Loved it. It started out very slowly and built gradually, with the last ten chapters or so providing some real nail-biting tension. By the end of the story, I couldn’t read fast enough to find out what was happening.
I definitely want to read the first two books in Marnie’s legacy and hopefully there will be more from this talented author.
A four out of five star read.
I’m profoundly grateful to Netgalley and Headline for my copy.

Leave a Reply

