Book Review – Riverkeep by Martin Stewart…

Fifteen-year-old Wulliam is dreading taking up his family’s mantle of Riverkeep, tending the river and fishing corpses from its treacherous waters. But then everything changes. One night his father is possessed by a dark spirit, and Wull hears that a cure lurks deep within the great sea-beast known as the mormorach. He realizes he must go on an epic journey downriver to find it – or lose Pappa forever.
 I have been given an ARC by Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
I’m now several chapters in to this book and I’m sorry to say things are going nowhere fast. The story feels sluggish and the interesting parts of it are few and far between.
Wull is, at times, likeable as a protagonist, but most of the time I found him to be more than a little frustrating. My overall favourite of the characters is Tillinghast. He saves the story at points.
The sluggish elements of the story pervade throughout the whole book and there were some parts where I had to really fight not to give up on the book. Books, for me, need to grab me and swirl me around up till the end. Sadly, this book just does not do it for me.
A two out of five star read.
 I am profoundly grateful to Netgalley and Random House UK.

Leave a Reply

