Oven Fried Chicken and Cheesy Grits – Healthy Versions of Southern Classics!

Inside Kel's Kitchen

I have struggled with my weight my whole adult life, so I am always looking for ways to make delicious meals with less fat and calories. Like my site’s slogan says, “Love to eat, love to cook and trying to keep it healthy!” My latest endeavor was to make fried chicken and cheesy grits that wouldn’t add 10 inches to my hips! I believe I can declare success! The fried chicken was crispy and tasty and the cheesy grits also tasted fantastic and had a nice texture to them. We had some vegetables with this dinner too. I promise!!!

I’ve made oven fried chicken before, but I had never used buttermilk or panko before. I just happened to have some of each of these leftover from a previous recipe. The buttermilk marinade gave the chicken a nice tang and the panko mixed with spices gave it extra crunch and a…

View original post 402 more words

Leave a Reply

