To swear or not to swear…

WARNING: THIS POST WILL CONTAIN A LOT OF SWEARING. IF THAT’S LIKELY TO OFFEND YOU THEN STOP READING NOW.

In my years on this earth, I have learned that there is one thing that I can do really well, one thing that makes me feel better with a minimum of effort. Swearing. It’s fucking awesome.

Now, I may have a potty mouth, but I never swear in front of my two kids and I totally accept that there are times and places that swearing is neither appropriate or acceptable.

But for the most part, yes, I swear like a bastard. One of my friends has very kindly bestowed upon me the nickname sweary Mary. Personally I think he’d just been drinking too much Toilet Duck that day. πŸ˜‰

As I have pretty much constant severe pain, I have learned that letting loose with a string of expletives actually works just as well (if not better) than taking my medication. Screaming “fuck fuck fuck” into my pillow really does seem to help. So fuck it. If it feels good, I do it.

I’m not just making spurious claims here. There has been research done that shows swearing can be good for you. This article comes from Time magazine in 2014.

Swearing is fucking good for you.

This article from Psychiatrist Neel Burton shows why swearing is awesome.

Psychiatry Today article.
Remember when I told you that swearing can help with my pain relief?

Here’s proof.
Swearing has been shown to prove that people are more emotionally expressive.

Fucking emotions!
People who swear have a better vocabulary.

Swearing lexicography.
There is evidence that swearing can produce better social bonding between colleagues.

Let it fucking rip!
Nine reasons swearing is fucking good for you!
The following quote comes from one of my all time heroes, Stephen Fry.

The sort of twee person who thinks swearing is in any way a sign of a lack of education or a lack of verbal interest is just a fucking lunatic.

  
Stephen Fry defends the art of swearing.
So you see? I’m simply showing the world just how fucking awesome I really am!

18 thoughts on “To swear or not to swear…

      1. My pain levels are not well controlled today, so I’ve sworn in my pillow for a little while then I did some colouring (I love it) and I’m going to try and get a little sleep.x

      2. Sorry to hear your pain levels are bad today 😦 Those colouring books look like fun, if I wasn’t sewing (embroidery most times) I’d have a go too – my mum loves it. Have a nice sleep! πŸ™‚ xx

      3. I went back to sleep (half the day!) as I had to catch up on essay work. I lay there and feel the pain in my body and don’t want to get up again. My poor family, I neglect them sometimes.

Leave a Reply

