Chronic tiredness…

If you suffer from a chronic illness, the chances are that you will know all about Christine Miserandino and her spoon theory. If you are the partner/carer of someone with a chronic illness, chances are that you will know about the spoon theory. However, those of you that don’t are probably scratching their heads and thing what the hell is the crazy woman talking about? Allow me to elaborate…

The spoon theory is the brainchild of a woman with a condition called Lupus (or SLE). Her name is Christine Miserandino. She was trying to explain to a friend of hers just how it felt to deal with chronic illness and tiredness.

You start your day with twelve spoons. Each action you do costs you at least one, and sometimes more spoons. Imagine in the morning – you can use four spoons before you leave the house (that’s is you can leave the house). By the time lunchtime has been and gone, you are down to four spoons. It’s hell. I’m enclosing a link so you can read about it should you wish to…

The Spoon Theory
I’m laying here in my bed and it is 10.10am. Already, a bone crushing weariness consumes me. The tiredness is caressing every nerve ending and making me feel as though my body is weighted down by lumps of concrete.

I want so desperately to close my eyes and drift blissfully info the realm of sleep. I already feel like I’m running on a negative spoon equity for the day. That will affect my tiredness for some days to come. But I have to keep going. I must.

Until I come to the point where I can physically go no further. My legs turn leaden and I come to a sudden halt. I slide down a wall into a puddle of tears, simply unable to move.

That’s how chronic tiredness feels. It’s horrible.

2 thoughts on “Chronic tiredness…

Leave a Reply

