30 day blog challenge…

I’ve been feeling very anxious and panicked over the last couple of days. I really needed something to take my mind of something I have to face next week. Then I spotted a blog post of a good friend and she was kind enough to let me borrow it. So here we go. This is my 30 day blog challenge.


Day one: introduction.
Wow, erm… hi there. You will have to forgive my disjointed babble. I have so much to say and I never know the best way to launch into my intro and talk about myself. I’m quite introverted and find making an introduction on the Internet rather difficult indeed to make. I am not the the most prolific social networker or emailer but when I put pen to paper I can talk for an a age!
I had better stop rambling and tell you all a little more about myself. My name is Arwen and I am a 43 year old single mum to two wonderful autistic boys who are my world.
We live in a gorgeous small village in the north east of Scotland. I love living in a rural area. The views are just stunning.
I am wheelchair bound and have a number of health issues. I also have a number of mental health issues, including depression and agoraphobia. I am not ashamed of this fact and do not see my mental health issues as something shameful. It is vitally important that people talk about mental health issues without prejudice and to raise awareness of the topic. Far too many people want to sweep mental health issues under the carpet instead of talking about them in a responsible way.
Pen palling is my passion. Being in a wheelchair and being housebound means that I don’t get to go anywhere. But through pen palling, I am able to leave my house and to fly around the world in the companionship of some absolutely wonderful people. I could not have asked for bette companions. I also have an unhealthy stationery and sticker obsession and I really do love making my letters and envelopes look pretty. I think that the overall appearance of the letter and envelope add to the general enjoyment of a letter. I keep swearing to my self that I will stop buying stationery and for a little while I can. But then I fail miserably and end up buying more.
Reading and music are also major passions of mine. There have been days where I have felt so sad, I have just lost myself in my favourite book and it, I honestly think, has saved me from falling into the abyss.
I am a passionate animal rights activist and do a lot of campaigning online with relation to these issues. I firmly believe in being a voice for the voiceless. I also campaign on human rights issues and loathe racism or prejudice in any form.

9 thoughts on “30 day blog challenge…

Leave a Reply

