An open letter to people who cheat… (and one person in particular)

You destroy lives. You destroy hope. You destroy dreams. 

I remember my mum’s face. She was all red and blotchy. Her eyes were swollen and her nose was running. She was clutching a sodden tissue in her hand and the remains of its predecessor lay shredded around her feet. I asked her what was wrong. I was only 10 years old. I didn’t understand. She told me my so called ‘father’ had run away with another woman and he was living with her now. 

Every time she wanted to speak to him, I had to phone the house. She was terrified of the other woman answering the phone. Now that I’m older, I can understand this so much. But at the time, I was so full of anger and sadness that I couldn’t do it without crying before and after. The bitch would always be nice to me. Fake niceness. It made me feel sick to the bottom of my stomach.

My mum never recovered from the damage that this did to her. Then after her death, the pair of them pissed all over my mum’s memory by moving into the same house and sleeping in my mum’s fucking bed!!! Sick!!! This I could never, ever forgive. Never.

This is just my story of the damage that infidelity can do. There is so much more to it as well. Stuff that I just cannot bring myself to share in public. I carry that inside me and even to this day I still feel the pain. I think I always will.

I have to question the psyche of cheaters. What kind of person can willingly inflict that kind of pain on another? Before I get jumped on, I am referring to BOTH parties here and not just the “other woman/man”.

What kind of person can actively destroy a family? It is something that I don’t think I will ever understand.

Then once your deception is uncovered, things can go one of two ways. You can continue on, or the relationship ends. In the second situation you can either choose to let it go, or you can pull every nasty trick in the book to try and inveigle yourself back into the life of your ex. You don’t care about anything else and you don’t care what lies you tell or who you hurt in the process. You are a special kind of evil. One day you will feel the same pain that you inflicted. That’s called karma. It’s pronounced HA HA fuck you.

3 thoughts on “An open letter to people who cheat… (and one person in particular)

Leave a Reply

