Rotten apples…

There are a few rotten apples in every barrel. In every walk of life, you find people who are simply not cut out to do the job they are in fact actually doing. 

I blogged about the experience of my mammogram the other day. About the way that I was treated by the woman that did my mammogram for me. It was a really unpleasant experience and I filed a complaint about her. But that isn’t the purpose of this blog post so enough about me.

Both my sons are autistic. I had to battle through a lot of red tape and idiots to get them diagnosed. My eldest was diagnosed first. After a lot of going back and forth to my GP, I was finally referred to the CAMHS department at our local hospital.

Our first visit, we met with two nurses. They asked a lot of questions. Yet one of them was lovely and the other one was a complete cow! She didn’t speak as much as the other one did, and when she did, she made me feel like I was just a piece of shit beneath her shoe. She was hostile and very challenging and aggressive. Now I know that they have to question everything I say, but the other nurse could do it without acting like a cockwomble. Everything I told her she rolled her eyes at and spent the entire session leaning against the desk looking down at me. Probably her patented intimidation technique. Cow. By the end of the appointment I felt so intimidated and unnerved that I couldn’t look at her. I had to take my son in so he could have an interview with her. When he came out, he whispered in my ear, “The mean lady made me feel sad. I don’t like her.” She groused that he didn’t display much emotion. Well of course not you dumb ass. A, he’s autistic and B, you would spook a vampire! She really pissed me off. Finally I got a referral to a psychiatrist for him. Not only was he diagnosed with autism, but also dyspraxia and ADHD.

This wasn’t the appointment that got to me. I had to battle for two more years to get my youngest son a CAMHS referral. He had been diagnosed with ADHD already but nothing more. I was so relieved to get that referral. But guess who we saw? Yup. Dragon bitch. She was even more acutely rude to me. I was so relieved that I had asked my carer to come in with me, so I had a witness to what she said. She was very dismissive of my youngest’s problems and at the end of the interview advised me,”A good slap will sort him out.” I have never been so horrified. She is damned lucky I’m in a wheelchair is all I can say. I wrote a long complaint to the head of the department, who was happy to see me. She asked me what I wanted. I told her all I’ve ever wanted was to have my youngest see a psychiatrist. She referred him to the same psychiatrist that saw my eldest. Huge relief!

I had to wait for months for the appointment to come through, but that’s normal. He was nervous, as he thought he would have to see the “mean nurse” again. It was only when he saw the doctor that he relaxed.

The report on his ADOS assessment took several weeks, but finally it came through. I had the diagnosis to get him the help he needs. That’s an ongoing battle for both boys. One I’ll never stop fighting. Goddess help you if you’re mean to my boys though.

Leave a Reply

