Religion…

Religion is like a penis. It is fine to have one, and to be proud of it, but if you whip it out and start waving it around in my face then you and I are going to have a huge problem. I love that quote.

It’s pretty much how I feel too. I’m fascinated by all religions and love to learn as much as I can about them. I strongly believe that you are not fully able to debate and criticise if you have no idea what you are talking about. I really wish that people would afford my spirituality the same courtesy.

It’s fine to say “I don’t agree with that” or “I don’t believe what you believe”. But to get right up in somebody’s face, prostelytise and try to change their mind by telling them they’re going to die and burn in hell unless they believe what you believe? That really does suck donkey balls.

People need to realise that whether christian, Jewish, pagan, Hindu or whatever they believe, that having respect for other people’s beliefs is central to peace. Whether it’s peace between people or peace between nations, having tolerance for each others beliefs would go a long way to establishing that peace.

  

4 thoughts on “Religion…

  1. Mandy

    Hi Arwen πŸ™‚ I completely agree with this post. I am a christian but I am always respectful of my friends who have different beliefs πŸ™‚ . Truthfully, I am tired of seeing a lot of friends on my friendslidt who are also christians bash other religions. I have one right now who is bashing muslims. I have a friend on twitter who is muslim and we talk about food πŸ™‚ . Its ok to ask questions about other religions, but for someone to tell another person they are going to hell unless they repent is overstepping the line a lot. I may do some trimming today because I dont want christians who judge harshly on my friends list. If people did not judge people from other religions, they would have the opportunity to have a new friendship with that person. To me, a religion a person has should have a sancturary component to it. You should feel peace when you practice it. In my own opinion, the church is corrupting other christians to bash those who are different. I love God, but I have taken the church part out of it. I will always continue to love everyone, even if some of my fellow christians think its wrong. Your post really hit home for me. May both of us continue to seek peace in a confusing and annoying world. Big (((((((hugs)))))) for you today πŸ™‚ .

Leave a Reply

