Invisible illness…

Call it what you will – chronic, invisible, it doesn’t matter one bit. What matters is that we have to suffer with it all.

I’ve been a sufferer since 2009. My life has drastically changed. I went from being an active, working full time woman, to being medically retired. My head was spinning. I found it so bloody difficult to adjust to the change in my life.

As time has gone by, my condition has deteriorated. Will it deteriorate any further? I don’t know. I hope not, but we shall have to wait and see what happens. I now require a lot of physical care and am not able to do a lot of the things that I used to take for granted.

The amount of ignorance there is surrounding chronic illness, no matter what the illness is. Not only ignorance but also prejudice. Many times I have had some utterly horrendous verbal abuse levelled at me, which is very much not OK. I’ve had people tell me that I shouldn’t be allowed out with “normal people” who have to tolerate wheelchairs! Utter scum.

Having to suffer the physical aspects of a chronic illness is bad enough. But the mental abuse? It’s beyond cruel.

3 thoughts on “Invisible illness…

  1. Agree! It is bad enough to deal with the illness itself, but to also have to deal with the abuse from others because of the illness can be too much at times. Although I have found ways to cope, one includes calling out the inappropriate behavior or comments, I still have my days where it goes overwhelming. But, I have decided to fight against the rudeness I get because of my chronic illness, as hard as I fight against the illness itself.

      1. I can only imagine. I am so sorry to hear you and others experience this. Just when I wonder if I am pushing to hard in my “education tour”, I receive information like this that makes me fight on.

Leave a Reply

