Invisible illness…

I may not have various tubes and wires hanging out of various personal areas of my anatomy. That’s never been an ambition of mine oddly enough.

However, the distinct lack of medical paraphernalia does not act as an indicator for my lack of illness. No sir.

I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis in my late teens. Then in my early twenties, osteoarthritis was to follow. Oh deep joy! Years passed and I struggled on with a working life. Then in 2009 my body really decided to play a cruel trick and permanently knock me on my ass. The git.

After months of tests, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia and osteoporosis. Such fun, don’t you agree? *rolls eyes*

My working life was finished. I’m now in need of a lot of help. I can’t do a lot of things. But I struggle on and do what I can.

I was recently diagnosed with type 3 EDS as well. But wait dear reader… this is not all. I have not mentioned all the other issues I have. PCOS, IBS and POTS. Aren’t I a lucky girl? I have so many presents from my generous body!

Yet despite all of this… I sit in my wheelchair and I look quite well. This has resulted in me being the butt of some horrendous comments, usually in the doctor’s surgery.

“She’s not old enough to be in that wheelchair”

“She doesn’t even look sick”

“I bet there’s nothing wrong with her”

“I bet she can walk”

Those comments could fill an entire blog post, and I try my hardest to ignore their hateful content. Yet every now and again, I get home and burst into tears.

So next time you see someone that doesn’t look particularly ill? Think before you speak. Please?

3 thoughts on “Invisible illness…

  1. People are cruel sometimes. I’ve found the looks are awful when you stand up from the wheelchair and use crutches.

    Just once, stand up from your chair and shout “it’s a Christmas miracle!”
    I dare you 😉

Leave a Reply

