Nobody asked me to hold the fucking door…

I have been really messed up over the last few days. I mean REALLY messed up. I felt like I had tried to help so many people and all apart from one person, none of them said thank you. That left a really sharp pain in my chest and I felt like I was worthless and not worthy of their thanks.

Then last night, I was watching Orange is the New Black (an addiction of mine) and it was an episode in season three. Joe Caputo’s girlfriend was leaving him and he got really angry with her because of all the help he had given her. She said something that really struck a chord with me. “You can’t spend your life holding the door open for people and then get angry when no one says thank you. No body asked you to hold the fucking door!”

That was it! That was exactly what I was doing! I was holding the door open! So at that moment I said to myself, “Fuck it! Do what I always do, but if people don’t say thank you? It isn’t the end of the world. I refuse to let other people’s bad manners stop me from being kind.” Helping other people makes ME feel good. Which is all I need.

4 thoughts on “Nobody asked me to hold the fucking door…

  1. You will always get rude ungreatful people in this world hun. You just arn’t one of them and that’s a good thing. For all those that can’t say a simple thank you, I thank you for them in the hope that one day they will grow some manners. xx

Leave a Reply

