A short rant about celebrating womanhood.

Recently, an incredibly brave woman, Kiran Ghandi, ran the London marathon with her period running freely down her legs. She did this to fight period shaming and to raise awareness for women who have to hide their periods away or have no access to sanitary products. You can read the story here.

Wow, I thought. What an incredibly brave thing to do! I was so proud of her! Then I started to see some of the less than complimentary comments about what she had done, calling her disgusting and gross. Seriously people? Get a fucking grip! Periods are normal and natural things. Not something to be screened, hidden and never discussed. For example: My period started at the age of ten. I freaked out. I thought that I was going to die! Periods need to be discussed more and not to be denied.

All I have to say to Kiran Ghandi is bravo! All I have to say to the morons? Grow up!

5 thoughts on “A short rant about celebrating womanhood.

  1. theresa1122

    WOW! I guess I kind of have a few mixed feelings about this post.

    First, I’m with you on the shaming thing. People don’t understand what it’s like to have to deal with this, especially men and children. For those who don’t have access to sanitary products, that’s just an awful thing to have to deal with, although they probably don’t know any different since they’ve never had access.

    Second, the slightly bad part of my reply, I guess I wouldn’t call it gross or disgusting because it’s part of every woman’s life, but I also wouldn’t want to be in that marathon near her while she’s bleeding all over. It’s a sanitary and medical thing for me. I don’t want to be exposed to anyone’s bodily fluids – whether it’s a cut on the hand or foot or a menstrual cycle. It’s just not right – if you have access to sanitary products, you should use them for the health and safety of yourself and those around you. Just my thoughts.

    Lastly, I completely agree with you on getting information more out in the open. This is a natural part of life and should not be shamed nor should women feel as if we need to whisper the word “period” like it’s a bad word. It’s life! We all have to deal with it. If you’re a woman, you have to live with it and if you’re a man, you need to understand what women around you are going through. Education is key!

      1. theresa1122

        Thank you. I didn’t mean to offend and if I did, I apologize. We all have our opinions and I pretty much agreed with everything you said, just had slightly different take on it or way to say it. I hate when people are unable to debate or agree to disagree. Thanks for sharing the story and letting me voice my opinion. 😀

Leave a Reply

