A wonderful piece on self harm. Well worth reading.

Now at weirdsid.co.uk

The first time I self-harmed was when I was 15 years old. I was taking GCEs and CSEs at school. There was a lot of pressure from my parents as I was going to be the first person in their family to go to college and become a teacher. My grandmother had wanted to teach but poverty intervened and at 14 she was a servant in a big house, my mother had a fantasy of teaching but lacked the intellect so it was pretty clear that I was there to fulfill their dreams. I didn’t want to become a teacher; I wanted to learn what I wanted to be. I wanted to leave home and see strange things. I wanted to stop living safely and take some risks. I wanted to go out when it was cold without wearing a scarf or cross the road without being that careful. I…

View original post 1,056 more words

Leave a Reply

